Wednesday, September 14, 2011

First in Women:

§  Graduates: Kadambini Ganguly and Chandramukhi Basu, 1883
§  Head of an Undergraduate Academic Institution: Chandramukhi Basu, 1888
§  Honours Graduate: Kamini Roy (1886)
§  Lawyer: Cornelia Sorabjee (1892)
§  Photojournalist: Homai Vyarawalla (1913)[14]
§  Doctorate of Science: Asima Chatterjee (1944)
§  Chief Justice of a High Court (Himachal Pradesh): Leila Seth, 1991
§  Supreme Court judge: Kumari Fathima Beevi
§  High Court Judge : Anna Chandy
§  Physician: Kadambini Ganguly, 1886
§  Airline Pilot: Durba Banerjee
§  In space: Kalpana Chawla aboard Space Shuttle Columbia flight STS-87, on November 19, 1997. She was a naturalized United States citizen, and represented the US during the event.
§  Nobel Prize winner: Mother Teresa in 1979 (Albanian born Indian citizen)
§  Monarch of Delhi Sultanate: Razia Sultan (1205–1240) of Mamluk Sultanate (Delhi)
§  Prime Minister: Indira Gandhi, 1966
§  Minister in a government: Rajkumari Amrit Kaur in the Ministry of Health
§  Chief Minister of a State: Sucheta Kripalani, Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh, 1963–1967
§  Governor: Sarojini Naidu, Governor of Uttar Pradesh, 1947–1949
§  Central Minister (in pre-independent India): Vijayalakshmi Pandit, minister of local self-government and public health, 1937
§  Speaker of the Lok Sabha: Meira Kumar
§  Indian National Congress President: Annie Besant
§  President: Pratibha Patil, 2007
§  IPS Officer Kiran Bedi
§  Asian Games gold medal winner: Kamlijit Sandhu
§  The first Indian woman to climb Mount Everest : Bachendri Pal , 1984
§  Chess Grandmaster: Koneru Humpy, 2002. She was also the youngest woman in the world to become a grandmaster at 15 years old.
§  To win 1st round match in a Grand Slam event: Nirupama Vaidyanathan beat Italian Gloria Pizzichini in the first round of the 1998 Australian Open
§  To reach 4th round (highest as of 2008) of a Grand Slam event: Sania Mirza in the Singles category of the 2005 US Open.
§  Grand Slam junior title: Sania Mirza (partnering with Russian Alisa Kleybanova) in the Doubles category of the 2003 Wimbledon Championships.
§  State Finance Minister: Dr Upinderjit Kaur, in Punjab : October, 2010
§  Paris Cycling Event : Divya Tate(44) : August, 2011
§  First women IAF officer: Anjali Gupta
§  To Cross Gobi Desert : Sucheta Kadethankar :2011

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thank you for your comments