Friday, September 16, 2011

Presidents of India..........

   Name                             Took office                      Left office                   Vice President 
1Dr Rajendra Prasad
(1884–1963)                    26 January 1950                    13 May 1962             Dr.S Radhakrishnan

NOTE:-   1952 election page & 1957 election page
Prasad was the first President of independent India from Bihar. He was also an independence activist of the Indian Independence Movement. Prasad was the only president to serve for two terms in office.

2 Dr.Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan
(1888–1975)                    13 May 1962                         13 May 1967                 Zakir Hussain

NOTE:-  1962 election page
Radhakrishnan was a prominent philosopher, writer, aKnight of the Realm and also held the position of vice chancellor of the Andhra University and Banaras Hindu University.He was also made a Knight of the Golden Army of Angels by Pope Paul VI.

Zakir Hussain
(1897–1969)                 13 May 1967                             3 May 1969              Varahagiri
                                                                                                                 Venkata Giri

1NOTE:-   967 election page
Hussain was vice chancellor of the Aligarh Muslim University and a recipient of Padma Vibhushan andBharat Ratna.He died before his term of office was ended.

Varahagiri Venkata Giri *
(1894–1980)           3 May 1969             20 July 1969
Giri was appointed as acting president following the death of Hussain. He resigned in a few months to take part in the presidential elections.

Muhammad Hidayatullah *
(1905–1992)           20 July 1969           24 August 1969
Hidayatullah served as the Chief Justice of India, and was a recipient of the Order of the British Empire. He served as acting president until the election of Giri as the President of India.

4Varahagiri Venkata Giri
(1894–1980)              24 August 1969          24 August 1974             Gopal Swarup Pathak

NOTE:-    1969 election page
Giri is the only person to have served as both an acting president and president of India. He was a recipient of the Bharat Ratna, and has functioned as Indian Minister of Labour and High Commissioner to Ceylon (Sri Lanka)

5    Fakhruddin Ali
       (1905–1977)         24 August 1974       11 February 1977        Basappa Danappa Jatti

NOTE:- 1974 election page
Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed served as a Minister before being elected as president. He died in 1977 before his term of office ended, and was the second Indian president to have died during a term of office.

Basappa Danappa Jatti *
(1912–2002)         11 February 1977         25 July 1977
Jatti was the vice president of India during Ahmed's term of office, and was sworn in as acting president upon Ahmed's death. He earlier functioned as the Chief Minister for the State of Mysore.

6  Neelam Sanjiva
       (1913–1996)         25 July 1977             25 July 1982           Muhammad Hidayatullah

NOTE:- 1977 election page
N.S.Reddy was the first Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh State. Reddy was the only Member of Parliament from the Janata Party to get elected from Andhra Pradesh. He was unanimously elected Speaker of the Lok Sabha on 26 March 1977 and relinquished this office on 13 July 1977 to become the 6th President of India.

 Giani Zail Singh
  (1916–1994)             25 July 1982             25 July 1987      Ramaswamy Venkataraman

NOTE:- 1982 election page
In March 1972, Singh assumed the position of chief Minister of Punjab, and in 1980, he became Union Home Minister.

8        Ramaswamy
         (1910–2009)        25 July 1987         25 July 1992             Shankar Dayal Sharma

NOTE:- 1987 election page
In 1942, Venkataraman was jailed by the British for his involvement in the India's independence movement.[20]After his release, he was elected to independent India’s Provisional Parliament as a member of the Congress Party in 1950 and eventually joined the central government, where he first served as Minister of Finance and Industry and later as Minister of Defence.

9  Shankar Dayal
       (1918–1999)       25 July 1992          25 July 1997        Kocheril Raman Narayanan

NOTE:- 1992 election page
Sharma was Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh, and the Indian Minister for Communications. He has also served as the governor of Andhra Pradesh, Punjab andMaharashtra.[22]

10 Kocheril Raman
      (1920–2005)        25 July 1997         25 July 2002             Krishan Kant

NOTE:- 1997 election page
Narayanan served as India's ambassador to Thailand, Turkey, China and United States of America. He received doctorates in Science and Law and was also a chancellor in several universities.He was also the vice-chancellor of Jawaharlal Nehru University.

11 A. P. J. Abdul Kalam
            (1931–)        25 July 2002         25 July 2007        Bhairon Singh Shekhawat

NOTE:- 2002 election page
Kalam, was a scientist who played a leading role in the development of India's ballistic missile and nuclear weapons programs.Kalam also received the Bharat Ratna.

13 Pratibha Patil
       (1934–)         25 July 2007             Incumbent        Mohammad Hamid Ansari

NOTE:- 2007 election page
Patil is the first woman to become the President of India. She was also the first female Governor of Rajasthan.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thank you for your comments